Grain-free Swedish pancakes

I did not grow up with the “typical” American pancakes being made in my home. When your mother grew up in Sweden and always had and made a certain type of pancake, that’s what wound up on my own plate. Did I appreciate this as a kid? Of course not. I wanted the pancakes like my friends got and like I saw on TV. Whether they were big or small, the pancakes I ate were thin.

Now I love them. They remind me of youth, of all the time I’ve spent in Sweden

The key difference between standard American pancakes and pancakes in the rest of the world is this: where American pancakes have a 1:1 ratio of liquid to flour, Swedish have a 2:1 in favor of liquid.
The other difference is in the pan.

For the last few years, my mother has been following a low-carb diet, and in the past year it has become even more strict on the counsel of her naturopath. She regularly looks for ways to redo certain recipes because she still has a sweet tooth and misses some of those treats.

Finding a replacement for Swedish pancakes has involved some trial and error. First she made an attempt with coocnut flour, but they were crumbly. Some Googling, and she found a recipe for making the pancakes grain free. Apparently low carb has become a big thing in Sweden, and these pancakes are GREAT! They don’t give the same volume of individual pancakes I recall from my youth, but it would be easy to simply double them.

These pancakes are Body Ecology legal, but not for stage one of the diet. If you’re at stage two and can handle milk, you can have these. As an alternative to jam or syrup, try whipping up some cream with stevia. Due to the presence of milk, they are not GAPS legal. Another low-carb option for topping is vaniljsocker, vanilla sugar, which is also popular in Scandinavian cooking.

Since maple trees (and thus syrup) do not exist in Sweden, the traditional garnish for these pancakes is jam. I would recommend looking for Swedish jam if you’re going to have the pancakes, because the overall sugar content is lower, and I find you also get more of the flavor of the fruit in them.

If you do not have the specific pan, you can also use this recipe for crepes.

Low-carb, grain-free Swedish pancakes

Ingredients:

1/2 cup heavy cream (ideally raw)
4 eggs
1 tbs butter, melted
pinch of salt

Tools:
1 Swedish pancake pan or regular pan
Spatula

1. Melt the butter and the cream and add the eggs to it.

2.Beat vigorously and add the salt.

3. Butter a crepe pan or frying pan and pour the batter and cook at high heat and rapidly on both sides.

4. As each round finishes, place on a plate and pour more batter. Cook and stack until the batter is gone.
A secret to flipping these: allow them to mostly cook, then flip. Otherwise the batter might run all over the place.

Serves 4… or two adults with sweet teeth who missed having this treat.

Happy eating!

Come join the fun on my Facebook fan page and follow me on Twitter!

I’m sharing the post at Real Food Wednesday, Simple Lives Thursday, Fight Back Friday, Fresh Bites Friday, , Weekend Courmet, Monday Mania, Traditional Tuesdays, and Grain free Tuesday.

20 responses to “Grain-free Swedish pancakes

  1. Oh these look so good and I love the pan! I’m going to have to keep my eye out at the thrift stores for one of those. And, I am completely shocked that it has no starch in them at all. Cream, eggs, and butter and you can get a pancake out of that? WAY cool!!!! Can’t wait to try!

  2. These look delish!!! Must try.

  3. Yummy!
    My kids prefer the American pancakes, well now we are on Paleo, but before. I grew in Sweden so of course I want them to like my kind of pancakes. I would love to have a pan like you have since I left mine behind when I moved to US.

    Low carb really has become huge in Sweden.
    Have a great weekend!

  4. the ingredients make it sound like a plan quiche filling, but they look absolutely delicious! thanks for the ideas(: need to look out for such a pan though ><

  5. Pingback: Weekly Recipe Wrap Up – 05/14/11 | Delicious Obsessions

  6. How amazing. I had to read the recipe three times before I could believe it, grain-free pancakes! I also like my pancakes thin, so this will suit me just fine. Now all I need is the pan.

    • Having had them again this past weekend I must add this. While the yield is smaller than what I am used to with flour-based pancakes, these are much more filling. I imagine that’s not a surprise given that they’re protein based.

      You can probably find the pan online, though if you have one that can do the job this should work as a good crepe recipe.

  7. They Look sooo good! I was wondering why you call for raw cream when you cook it on High heat though.

    • Sunny (I love this, it’s what my name means too!),

      I mention raw or low pasteurized cream for this as more of a quality thing than for the enzymes. In the grocery stores around where I live, every brand of heavy cream on the shelf is ultra-pasteurized, and I generally don’t trust it to be as nutritious as what I can get from the farmer’s market. If you know of any commercial makers who don’t automatically ultra-pasteurize which are available in New England I’d definitely be interested.

  8. I just cooked these, and they really were amazing. Didn’t have the pan, but after a bit of experimenting (and eating the rejects nom nom) I found that using two pans worked well. I had both pans hot, so rather than trying to flip with a spatula, I just flipped from one pan to another. Then add more batter to pan 1, repeat. Life-changing pancakes. Oh, and I want for the non-Swedish maple syrup option.

    • Rhi, that’s a great idea! Even with the specific pan, flipping is an art form and something to be developed. I’m still working on it myself. :)

  9. Yum, these look fantastic! Please add them to our Grain-Free Tuesday bloghop!

  10. Nice, tweeting these this week :)

  11. Pingback: Grain-Free Tuesdays 13 :: Hella Delicious Food for Health, Roots, Peace and Community

  12. Pingback: What has been and what may come: most popular posts of 2011 | I Believe In Butter

  13. Sounds so, so, so yummy! I don’t have any special pancake pans. I’ve wanted an aebelskiever pan for some time but just cant find the shelf space.

    We make protein pancakes or dutch babies but have yet to try something entirely grain free. These sound perfect! With homemade applesauce I bet they are ethereal!

  14. You don’t necessarily need the pans for these actually. if you have flat cookie cutters you can put those down in the pan, I would imagine, and get some fun shapes that way!

  15. Pingback: A Top 12 for 2012 | I Believe In Butter

Leave a Reply

