Sprouted lentil soup

If you have been reading this blog for a while or watching me on social media, you’ll know that I am on a never-ending quest to find food I can make for lunches to take to work. I want something nourishing which I can put in a thermos (well, if it’s hot or cold), and will keep me filled and going for the rest of the day. This is actually not as easy as it sounds. I’m not one for making extra food at dinner for leftovers (from my younger days when I would overeat easily) and some of what I have for dinner does not loan itself easily to sitting in a thermos. I also hate using the microwave, so things I can heat on the stove at home are a big help.

This is why I like making up big batches of soup. A filling food, heats easily, keeps well in a thermos, and something I just love. Now that I am back to eating more grains and legumes, I am again looking at bean soups. They’re great for the bank account, and by using bone broth I can get a lot more minerals and other nutrients into my body in a very accessible form.

The recipe I used this last week is one I found in The Joy of Cooking with a little real food twist I put on it: using sprouted lentils instead of simply throwing in some dry lentils. If you’re wondering why I’d sprout the lentils, hit the link to find out why sprouting makes the lentils much more nutritious.

You can make this recipe with vegetable broth or water, but I would highly recommend the bone broth. It adds both flavor and a lot more of what your body needs.

This recipe made up a good six servings for my lunches.

Sprouted Lentil Soup
(original recipe from The Joy of Cooking, 1997 edition)

Ingredients:
2 cups sprouted lentils. You can get this with sprouting between 1-1.5 cups of dry lentils.
Butter or olive oil
3 medium carrots, peeled and chopped
3 medium celery stalks, chopped
1 large onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
(optional) 4 ounces sliced bacon*
8 cups bone broth (homemade is much cheaper and better–for this batch I used lamb broth), vegetable broth, or water
1 teaspoon dried thyme
2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon black pepper
1.5 teaspoon balsamic vinegar

Equipment:
Large pot or dutch oven
Large (slotted) spoon

Instructions:
1. Heat fat in the pot
2. Cook carrots, celery, onion, and garlic until tender but not brown. (Tip: wait to throw in the garlic until the end, since it can burn easily.) If you’re including the bacon, add it here.
3. Stir in the broth/water, lentils, and thyme. Bring to a boil, then let simmer until the ingredients are tender.
4. Add in the salt, pepper, and balsamic vinegar.
5. Serve! or, if you’re me, take off the burner, let cool, and put in the fridge. Come morning, take about three ladles full out and heat up, then put in your thermos and head to work!

Happy eating!

*I did this with my batch, and I honestly didn’t like it that much. The bacon, obviously, won’t be crisp.

Come join the fun on Facebook and follow me on Twitter!

I’m sharing this post at Weekend Gourmet, Monday Mania, Traditional Tuesdays, Real Food Wednesday, Frugal days, Sustainable ways, Simple Lives Thursday, Pennywise Platter, Fresh Bites Friday, Fight Back Friday, Sunday night soup, and Sunday School.

14 responses to “Sprouted lentil soup

  1. I love lentil soup! Yours look so good! Soup is definitely a great lunch solution!

    • Jenn, definitely! It does get a little boring after a while though, which is why I try to mix things up as much as I can.

  2. What a great idea to sprout the lentils first…I bet that makes it more digestible. I also love how you can see the little sprout tails on the lentils! I’m hosting a weekly blog carnival specifically for soups, stocks and chowders, every Sunday! I would love it if you would come over and post this recipe. Here’s a link with more information:

    http://easynaturalfood.com/2011/10/17/introducing-sunday-night-soup-night/

    I hope to see you there!
    Debbie

  3. Sprouted beans are something Beth and I talk about trying and never actually get around to doing it. Due to a variety of health issues, legumes are pretty much The Food that Beth’s body cannot process without pain. Which is sort of awful, because she enjoys them, and when you’re trying to scale back on the meat consumption, beans are the place to go. Except, then, you can’t, and so what do you then do? We suspect that sprouted beans might be something she can handle; at least, we suspect enough that we’re interested in trying. It never gets further than that, because the whole thing seems so very esoteric . . . .

    • Jo, I promise it’s not! Just get a colander, some dry beans and start rinsing. When they’re sprouted they are MUCH easier to digest too. Let me know how it goes.

      • That’s what I kept not believing. You can sprout *any* dry beans? They make it seem like you have to buy special beans. (Don’t ask who ‘they’ are. Just . . . ‘them’.)

    • yes, any old dry beans, like the ones you can get in bulk at the health food store. though I would advise not using soybeans, since it’s not advisable to eat any soy unless it’s heavily fermented.

      • Soybeans are known, in our household, as The Evil Ones. Nothing hurts her like soybeans hurt her. Not even broccoli. Heheh, at the health food store, she says! Here, that translates into: your neighborhood corner store! I love this city.

    • Ha ha, that is a good thing to know then. I swear it’s not very difficult. And poke around for recipes online, there’s a lot you can do. I recall GNOWFGLINS has a sprouted lentil salad recipe on the site.

  4. I used to take soup to work in a thermos, because like you, I hate using the microwave (we don’t even own one). Thanks so much for sharing this recipe with Sunday Night Soup Night! I’ll be hosting weekly through fall and winter, so I’d love to see you again with your next soup/stock/chowder recipe.

  5. Pingback: A Top 12 for 2012 | I Believe In Butter

  6. I left the soup mix to soak, oh a bit longer than the recommended 12 hours and by the time I checked on it, the legumes had all sprouted! I’m someone who hates to waste food, and so when I mess something up without rendering it totally inedible (like unless it’s gone off or is burnt to a crisp) I find a way to use it. So I put some sprouts aside to use in a salad and then went online to check for soup recipes as I still wanted to make something hot. Since sprouted things are better for you, I thought, surely there must be a way to use them in a soup still? I was very glad to come upon your recipe, with the clear pictures and instructions (even though mine was not lentil, it worked fine) but even more glad to find I Believe in Butter itself! I am sure I will be back again. Thank you!

  7. Pingback: Loads of Lentils! Lentil Recipe Roundup! - Stitching Hearts Together

Leave a Reply

