January link love

Things I have been loving this past month, which can all be summed up under “loving my family’s ancestral culture”:
*Scandinavian folk and folk-esque music. In fact, let introduce you to an incredible singer from a country you’ve likely never heard of before.

*Reading about Anglo-Saxon culture

*Realizing that I need to make some time to read Tolkien, considering the aforementioned Anglo-Saxon reading, playing Lego Lord of the Rings, and enjoying The Hobbit on the big screen.

I’m also preparing for my annual trip to California, doing some things out there which I might tell you about here, and taking some formal steps to figure out how to help my health return.

And as always, I read blogs. One thing I would like to do this year is more formal sharing of others’ works, like I am about to do here:

Hollandaise sauce made simple by Cooking Traditional Foods.

Are you still working on goals you set at the new year? If they are health related, look at this post from Hybrid Rasta Mama detailing 10 ways coconut oil can help you with those goals.

I have to make some time in the kitchen so I can try these grain and corn free tamales from GAPS Diet Journey.

Are you still eating packaged foods like “instant” mashed potatoes? Read this from My Life in a Pyramid, then throw out all those boxes when you’re done.

Did you ever consider that eating lesser known plants and animals might be GOOD for them? This article from Eatocracy explains how eating endangered breeds can save them. Short answer: demand. Increase the demand and there is motivation to eat the supply. A very slow food take.

Part of my job duties include ordering DVDs for our collection. Just yesterday I put in an order for the recently aired Soul Food Junkies. And I wish I could include this critique from Hunt. Gather. Love. with the DVD.

My friend Jessica has been sharing her ongoing work with improving her health, and has a good reminder of why second opinions are important.

Finally, if you’re not a fan of mine on Facebook, you have missed out on me raving about this South African hot toddy which has been finding its way into my belly a few times over the past week. It’s even better than it sounds.

Come join the fun on Facebook and follow me on Twitter!

3 responses to “January link love

  1. Thanks for the mention of my grain-free corn-free tamales! I hope you get a chance to try them, they are so yummy! I was just thinking about them yesterday and thinking about making another batch. :-)

  2. Thank you for the shout out Soli! It’s been a long time since we’ve spoke! I hope you are well! :) :)

    • Knocking on wood right now that my energy levels seem to be improving and I hope they last. Maybe now I’ll be able to be more internet social. Hope you’re doing well too!

Leave a Reply

