Introduction

Hello world.

My name is Soli.

And I believe in butter.

I also believe in coconut oil, cheese, eggs, raw milk, liver, seafood, pate, and homemade soups. I believe in food working together for maximum benefits, knowing what you put in your body, and the stuff which goes in your body only having a certain amount of “tampering” done.

In short, I believe in real food.

Over the past year, I’ve been getting to know the wisdom of what is commonly known as the traditional foods movement. It is based on the findings of  Weston A. Price, a dentist in the early 20th century. In short, he believed that industrialized foods were responsible for a lot of the health issues people in Western countries have but are not found in cultures where their traditional diet was still in use.  I still have a long way to go in implements this way of eating fully, and I hope that by having a blog I can both motivate myself to do and learn more and also share what I learn with others. In addition to food, I hope to cover  alternative health topics, environmental issues, and maintaining a house.

Also, I have noticed that I seem to be an anomaly in the online traditional foods community. I’m not married and have no kids. So trying to cook for myself (sorta) is a little more difficult because so many recipes I find are for several servings. In this house it’s just me and my mother, and we’re not exactly of the mindset of making extra for leftovers.  However, I am not adverse to changing that mindset. What I am hoping to do is prove by example that ANYONE can implement a traditional foods life, no matter how much or little time they think they have.

Leave a Reply

