Recipe: Kalsoppa (Cabbage Soup)

This post comes to you from an airline gate. This morning I am indeed flying out to California for my annual visit. There is snow to the south of me, and while the sky is grey here (with some light bands letting in some sunlight), the sky is not falling. By this afternoon I should be in sunshine and warmer weather and among friends I see far too seldom.

Yes indeed, it’s still winter here in New England. It stays around as long as possible. Sometimes we even get snow in April and early May. So what better recipe to post first to the blog than a soup recipe? This is actually one from a cookbook my mother got back when she was in school in Sweden. It’s delicious! Also notice the ingredients listed are REAL. Fat suggestions include lard (a fat your body can properly digest and utilize) and molasses (a good way to get minerals into your diet). Looking at this soup for the first time two weeks ago, I said it looked a lot like Italian wedding soup.

Cabbage can be found a lot in Swedish and New England cooking. Though I will note that eating a great deal of cabbage may not be the best thing for your body. I can imagine this not being as much of an issue in the past, since it would not have been available year round save for in a fermented form. Great reason to eat a widely varied diet.

Kålsoppa (Cabbage Soup)

Head of cabbage
1 tbs oil, butter or lard
1 tsp molasses
salt
1 qt beef stock

2 tbs breadcrumbs
1 cup milk
1 lb ground meat
1 tsp salt
pinch of white pepper

Cut cabbage head into pieces about 2 inches square. Soak breadcrumbs in milk and mix well with ground meat, salt & pepper.
In large pot, brown the cabbage in cooking oil until slightly wilted. Stir in molasses, add stock, a bit of salt, about 2-4 cups of water. If desired, a beef or neck bone can be added. Let soup simmer for about 10 minutes. Shape ground meat mixture into small meatballs and drop them into the soup. Continue to simmer until meatballs are cooked through, about 15 minutes.

This post is a part of Real Food Wednesday and Pennywise Platter Thursday.

4 responses to “Recipe: Kalsoppa (Cabbage Soup)

  1. I only like cabbage, broccoli, and kale raw (actually- I hate the vast majority of cooked vegetables). Cooking brings out all kinds of flavors in them that I just don’t like. It’s good to know the effects they can have though!

    • Megan, do you like sauerkraut at all? If so, check the health food stores are you for a brand called Real Pickles. They make their saurekraut through lacto-fermentation, so it’s not cooked at all, but it tastes great and is good for your system. You don’t need to eat a lot of it either in that form, and it’s actually better if you don’t.

  2. Pingback: Recipe: Kaldomar « I Believe In Butter

  3. I think that is an interesting point, it made me think a bit. Thanks for sparking my thinking cap. Sometimes I get so much in a rut that I just feel like a record.

Leave a Reply

