Goals… and Harvard said WHAT?

To think, on Monday I expected that all I would have to post is a short goal list to share. Then as I was listening to the NPR news feed Tuesday morning, I heard something to make my jaw hit the floor. A study from the Harvard School of Public Heath states that replacing saturated fats with polyunsaturated may cut risk of heart disease.
I just read through the press release and am not sure what to make of the findings. If any of you have some free time and would like to read the full article and find answers to some of the queries I will pose, go for it. (I will give the scientists kudos for publishing in an open access peer-reviewed journal, because this way anyone who wants to read it can, rather than needing access to an academic or medical library.)
First, how were all the fats classified? Were trans fats placed in their own group? What was the quality of the saturated fats the participants ate (if it was CAFO beef, yeah, I can believe it not being healthy)? What did the rest of their diets look like?
I expect there will be a new surge in adverts for vegetable oils, and perhaps even Olestra.
In the meantime I’m obviously not buying it. I cannot believe that the tasty butter in my fridge, which I eat liberally on a daily basis, is somehow worse for me than oil from a soybean, which can also send my estrogen levels to highs it was never meant to go.
Never mind that there is not an automatic correlation found between cholesterol levels and heart issues. Enough people with low and “normal” numbers still have heart issues, and some with high numbers have zero heart trouble.
Incidentally, tomorrow I am getting blood work done to check my own cholesterol level, because it hasn’t been checked since 2003. My family tends toward lower levels, and I expect to continue that trend. We shall see what the past year of a traditional diet does for the numbers, and the HDL:LDL ratio.

Now to more lighthearted material…
I love goals. I set them regularly, from daily tasks on to multi-year plans. Otherwise it’s too easy for me to lose focus and I also feel like I am not moving forward with my life if I don’t have them. At the beginning of the year, Nourishing Gourmet posted to ask people about their real food resolutions for 2010. I didn’t add anything then, because I had this blog in the works and was keeping quiet about it, and also knew that I wanted to post said goals here. These are meant to cover the first half of the year. Yes, I plan to come back to them around 30 June and post an update of how well I did.

By 30 June, 2010, I hope to have completed the following:

1. Read through the first section of Nourishing Traditions and practice some more of the basics.

2. Try a new organ meat.
DONE! And I liked it!

3. Buy a dehydrator. I REALLY want to make my own crackers.

4. Research food cures for asthma and allergies. This is a maybe and I am sure will be ongoing even if I start it.

5. Purchase Lunch Skins, since I do consume a lot of sandwiches during the week. Right now I reuse one plastic bag for several weeks.

6. Purchase water filtration system for the kitchen and low flow showerhead and filter for my bathroom.

What kind of goals are you working on right now? How successful have you been so far?

This post is a part of Real Food Wednesday.

10 responses to “Goals… and Harvard said WHAT?

  1. Wow, never heard of those LunchSkins, that’s an awesome idea. Unfortunately, they don’t appear to sell online directly (wonder why not?) and there are no stores carrying them in my town. However, I’ll keep them in mind and maybe look for them next time I go to Portland.

    In the meantime, guess I’ll just keep using tupperware when possible, and re-using my ziploc bags, which I do at least a few times per bag (frankly, it’s amazing to me how few people do this, as it saves so much money).

    • syncreticmystic

      There is a shop function on the web site for lunch skins, otherwise I doubt I’d be able to find them anywhere. In the meantime I am like you with reusing bags. One bag gets used for about two weeks, and it’s always one from the grocery deli now.

  2. One of my goals is to read the full article!
    I wanted to tell you that I don’t have a dehydrator, but have been able to use my oven for crackers, granola, drying sprouted wheat, fruit leathers, and more. So, don’t feel like you can’t make crackers until you can afford your dehydrator! 🙂

    • syncreticmystic

      Let me know what they actually say in there about the fats. I wonder if it might be a case of placebo effect.

      Does your oven go below 180F? I think that’s the lowest mine goes. At any rate, it’s what is keeping me from trying to do my own crackers and crispy nuts. It’s not low enough to keep the enzymes present. But I suppose for now the perfect is the enemy of the good. It’s not as though I eat a lot of nuts or crackers these days so I would not make a lot.

  3. Mine goes to 170. I would rather have a dehydrator too, but my oven works for now!

  4. I read the article- it took me a while, but I got through it. Interestingly, they didn’t even do any new experiments, just reevaluated old ones. They had a certain criteria for which experiments they would include, but there is no information in the article about what kinds of saturated/ polyunsaturated fats they were eating.
    For me, after reading it, I think it’s just more of the same bad science that made us all think fat was evil in the first place!

    • syncreticmystic

      Thank you for reading it Chanelle, and I may be linking back to your comments come Wednesday. It’s not surprising but disheartening, because it sounded like NEW findings and not a rehash. When I originally sent the article to a friend of mine, her comment was that she doesn’t really pay attention to “health news” anymore since it’s so often contradictory and following along specific lines.

  5. Dr. Stephan Guyenet, over at Whole Health Source, has already addressed the fats issue: http://wholehealthsource.blogspot.com/2010/03/leave-your-brain-at-door.html. His site is awesome, for any of you who are unfamiliar…

  6. Pingback: Real Food Wednesday full of links « I Believe In Butter

Leave a Reply

