I believe in awesome and useful gifts

I didn’t say anything about it here, but at the end of July I turned a year older. One of the signs that I am definitely getting older is that I don’t really want gifts anymore. I can afford most of the stuff I want now, and the stuff I can’t afford, well, there’s no one in my life right now I would expect to get them for me. So when my mother asked me what I might want as a gift, I was stumped. Until one thing popped to mind which I have been considering for a while…

Birthday toaster
Inaugural use, reheating some delicious sausage.

A toaster oven.
No just any toaster oven either. A combination toaster/convection oven. I’ve heard that convection ovens are much better for baking. Thus far I have not had a chance to try this out but I am looking forward to the chance.

The big reasons for wanting a toaster oven are two. First, I wanted a better way to heat/cook food in the summer without needing to use the oven. A toaster uses much less energy when it’s running, and when not in use, I unplug the toaster. This means that the appliance is not draining electricity when not in use, which saves the electric bill.
Second, I have mostly kicked the microwave habit and this toaster now means I never “have” to use one to reheat food. In the traditional food movement, microwaves are considered anathema. I admit I have not done a lot of research into the disadvantages of using a microwave, but I know some of it is due to health issues.
My biggest reason for not liking microwaves anymore is a matter of taste. I simply don’t think food TASTES as good when “cooked” in the microwave. The heating is very uneven and it can also be too easy to scorch the food. I’ll trade the small time saving for food which is more pleasing in my mouth.

Yes, I am very happy with this gift. I hope it lasts a long time, and I promise to give updates as I use it more.

Become a fan on Facebook and follow me on Twitter.

This post is a part of Real Food Wednesday. Check out the carnival to see what else is happening in the real food blogverse this week.

4 responses to “I believe in awesome and useful gifts

  1. I love my toaster oven… Some things just cook better in it than they do in my wall oven. And it’s great, as I can put it away in a cupboard when not in use, to have the space.

    Mine has a rotissery in it too.. Great for roast chicken!

  2. That is a great gift idea, & mum will be happy knowing she gave you something that you’ll really use:)
    I love my Turbo Easi-Cook Oven- a round glass bowl contraption, that cooks with hot air circulation – roasts & bakes cakes, vegies…..everything. This has replaced my microwave, too!
    Well done for kicking the microwave habit!

  3. I, too, turned another year older at the end of July! And I agree with you about not wanting gifts. It seems funny, but I have been thinking of asking my husband for a toaster oven as a Christmas gift. Last year he got me a stand mixer, which I love. I don’t mind getting appliances as gifts!!

    • syncreticmystic

      There are a few things I’d still like to get as appliances but I am hoping to wait until I move (please in the next year or so Anyone listening) and get them as housewarming gifts. Have other gift ideas for the winter which I will post about sometime next month.

Leave a Reply

