I believe in making changes

Hey, have you seen my fan page yet? I’ve been posting things there which I don’t always have time to blog about, but would like to help spread.
I’m also on Twitter, and I do check @ messages daily, even if I don’t get a chance to read every word everyone says.

So here’s a bit of what has been going on in my life lately. I decided that since I have a bit of a lull before the fall semester starts, I could implement some changes and not be so likely to stumble in them for having a crazy life.

1. A little over two weeks ago I made an “impulse” decision, not unlike the one I made a few years ago about eating the whole animal if I was going to stay an omnivore.
In this case, I decided that I would cut down/out the amount of grain I eat which is not somehow fermented, soaked, or sprouted. With the low-carb craze of the last decade, grains have developed a bit of a bad reputation. Never mind that the USDA still recommends a high amount of grains in the daily diet. But that’s a subject for another post.
Traditional food wisdom encourages the soaking, sprouting and fermenting of grains because this aids in the digestibility of the grain. Cultures around the world who consumed grains would seldom, if ever, eat them “straight” from the field. They’d undergo some form of natural processing. Even allowing rice to sit in clay pots, as happened in places like India, would let the rice grains ferment in some way. This process breaks down phytic acid, which is present in these plants. Phytic acid, when ingested, prevents the body from properly absorbing nutrients. So you can eat a large amount of nutrient dense foods, but if you have something like phytic acid rampant in your system, you won’t get all the benefits of this food.
I’m curious to find out if cutting down on these grains will help me to lose a little more weight or affect my health in any way. It’s too soon to tell, and there’s one little problem…
Since making this decision, I’ve become very aware of just how prevalent these grains are in the diet and how much I eat them. I’ve had rice twice: once with sushi (and I wasn’t too thrilled with the presence of the rice for the first time ever) and once last weekend with red beans and buffalo while attending the Mohegan powwow (in this case I didn’t notice the grain as much). I’ve also had some regular bread, fry bread at the powwow (which was delicious and completely worth it), and even today I know I will have more because I am looking forward to having a gyro for lunch.
I did stop getting rice when I go out for my weekly Mexican dinner with my mother. Just having beans and the main dish (often chiles rellenos, which I LOVE) is enough to fill me but also not leave me with the pressure of feeling stuffed.
Yes I will be keeping track of this and periodically commenting. I’ll also do more formal research on grains and post the material to share with you.

2. How often do you shampoo and condition your hair? I do it daily. Until a week and a half ago, I bought a bottle of each about every three weeks at the store, and thought I was fine because it was “organic.” Then I found out after the last time that apparently a lot of organic brands are not that at all. Whether this is true or not (since I can’t find the article I had read. Actual Organics, if you’re reading this, can you help me out?) Which got me to thinking about what I put on my body. First, I was spending $20 a month to keep my hair clean. And my conditioner had been reformulated somehow to make it more difficult to rinse out of my hair. When such things happen, I end up discussing it with my friend Stacy. She is at the point of wanting to only use bathing products which she could (theoretically) reproduce on her own without needing a chemistry lab. With her encouragement, I placed an order with Oyin Handmade.
Alright, so I really don’t have the hair type Oyin is meant for. I’m still a little too firmly in the 2 category of the naturally curly scale. But I thought that by switching to products not focused on stripping out the oils and applying other ones on a regular basis, I might do my hair a little more good.
It took close to ten days for my hair to adjust. But it’s adjusting beautifully. My showers have gotten shorter (no conditioner to rinse out… and out and out, which saves water) and it’s become notably curlier. Is the change worth it? I think so. Better hair, supporting a small business, and getting myself a little further extracted from needing to feed the beauty industry? All worth it.

To give you an idea of the curl change, here’s a picture of me I took two weeks ago when I was out doing some light hiking. This was a typical hair day for me.

Here is a photo taken last night. Curl city! I never knew my hair was inclined to more spiral curls. It’s also a little frizzy because it was the end of the day and yesterday was lightly rainy for most of the day.

I don’t put any special styling product in my hair except for a dab of stuff control the frizziness. Even the new Shine and Define cream I got from Oyin is doing a much better job than what I had gotten from my salon.

What kind of changes have you all been making as you proceed along the real food path? Has it spilled over into your beauty care as well? Where else has it spilled?

Don’t forget to sign up for the Real Food for Rookies class!

This post is a part of Real Food Wednesday and Simple Lives Thursday. Check out the carnivals to see what else is happening in the Real Food and Simple Living worlds.

8 responses to “I believe in making changes

  1. I only wash my hair once a week- I primarily shampoo the scalp (although I do do an all over) and I primarily condition the long part. I shampoo three times and condition once and leave a bit of conditioner in. I’ll definitely take a look at that site you mentioned though, because I’d love to get my hair curling (right now it tends towards a frizzy wave). Less processing would also be very nice.

  2. I recently changed too. I’m trying to avoid ALL soy, so I was already concerned about the ingredients in my shampoo. When I couldn’t find any conventional shampoo that didn’t have a list of 85 ingredients, I dug around in the organic section until I found a couple that seemed ok. I haven’t been super thrilled with them, though I do actually prefer them to the conventional shampoos (like you, it took over a week). About a week ago I bought some liquid castile soap, and I’m trying that out. So far it’s ok, but it does make it hard to run your fingers through your hair when wet, and seems slightly filmy after drying. I might try the bar soap in the future, which I’ve heard works better on hair.

    I also intend to try it on my face, and it does work well as a body wash. I also tried coconut oil on my scalp for dandruff, and that seems to work AND leaves my hair nice after shampooing.

  3. What a difference your hair shows. I wash my hair every other or every 3rd day. I need to look into a better solution!

    • syncreticmystic

      Right now I am also looking in to doing ACV rinses weekly, but won’t unless I can find a BPA-free spray bottle.

      I am loving my hair, even if I do wake up with massive bed head now. Worth it.

  4. I’m on the every three days plan 🙂 and I alternate between organic shampoo and nopoo. Have you tried nopoo? It might work for you! I also really appreciate your thoughts about grain consumption and look forward to hear how you feel after making the change.
    Thank you for contributing to Simple Lives Thursday!

    • syncreticmystic

      Hi Alicia, I’m not brave enough yet for no poo, as I am very vain about my hair. If I can find BPA free spritz bottles I’ll add in ACV too.

  5. I have been using a traditional bar soap made by my local farmer using their pasture-raised pigs’ lard and lye with some goats milk, tea tree oil, and honey and I LOVE IT! I love how it still lathers so good like shampoo and I can use it all over my body not just for hair. It does tend to leave a residue, so what I have been doing is using some borax in my hair before I shampoo, like rub the mixture of water and about a teaspoon of it in my scalp (borax-the laundry stuff, its just pure boron, and has anti-fungal properties, and if you ingest about 1/4 tsp in a liter of water a day can help flush out fluoride from the body- see earthclinic.com for borax cures along with many other cures!), and that has been making my hair feel really nice, along with a final rinse with a tall cup of water with about a tablespoon of ACV, just pour some through the hair while running your fingers through it to make sure the soap residue gets rinsed. Then leave it on, its also good because chlorinated water and soap leaves the skin too alkaline and stripped, the skin needs to be slightly acid.

    And guess what?! I never knew my hair was slightly curly! And now I will never go back to regular shampoo because obviously its not doing anything good for the hair no matter how many organic ingredients are in it.

    • syncreticmystic

      Hi Janelle, isn’t it amazing about the curls? Two weeks now and I am gawking at how much more spiral my hair shows every day!

Leave a Reply

