Real Food for One: Frittata

Have you entered the Real Food for Rookies contest yet? Even if you don’t win, entering will make you eligible for a 15% off coupon for enrolling.

Are there ever times when you are cooking for yourself or you just want to make up something quick and easy? Most recipes aren’t designed for solo cooking, so when I find one which IS, I will use it a lot. Often times I will make up one of these when I come home from my yoga class, when I need something FAST and GOOD.

Frittatas are are type of egg dish akin to omelets and quiches, only without the crust and with all the ingredients mixed into the egg. They are easy to make, taste wonderful, and look good. They’re also frugal, since it’s a good way to use leftovers and even pastured eggs are not that expensive.


My quick frittatas never look this good, but it does inspire me to make them more often and see what kind of masterpieces I can produce.

This is the foundation of the frittata:

2-3 eggs (ideally from chickens who do not eat feed, but roam around the land eating grass and bugs. AKA pastured chickens)
1 T. unsalted butter

Preheat oven to 350F. Melt the butter in a small skillet, around 6-7 on the heat. Beat the eggs until they are well-mixed. When the butter has melted and it very warm, pour the egg mixture into the pan. Cook until the edges of the eggs start to firm. If you are adding ingredients, pour them in now and add herbs and spices. Place the pan in the oven. If you have not added a lot of extra items to the eggs, cooking time is about 5 minutes. If you have added other solid ingredients (cheese, vegetables, herbs, etc.), extend cooking time to 6-7 minutes. Check it! The center should look cooked on the top and not runny.
You can adjust the amount of eggs to serve more people too, making it more like a quiche.

For my frittatas, I like to add goat cheese, traditional cream cheese if I have it on hand, white or black pepper depending on my mood, olives, and other herbs. When it comes out of the oven, I like to put a little salsa on it (from Zukay) and serve with a slice of homemade sourdough toast with a liberal amount of butter. Adding the cream cheese is a great way to acclimate yourself to the taste. I still find it a little strong and don’t have as many chances to sample it.

This is a great way to get more eggs into your diet. It’s also very filling, especially when you add cheese to the frittata. It’s a nice variation from the standard scrambled eggs or omelet. It’s also a good way to start experimenting with cooking. You can try different mixes of foods and flavors, and especially doing it for yourself, you don’t have to worry as much about failing with the mix. No one will know but you.

This post is a part of Real Food Wednesday, Simple Lives Thursday, and Fight Back Fridays. Check out the carnivals to see what else is happening in the real food world this week!

Come visit on Twitter and Facebook.

5 responses to “Real Food for One: Frittata

  1. Just so you know – even a pastured hen has to eat laying ration. Modern chickens have been bred to such standards that we can only give them the nutrition they need to lay often and hard eggs by giving feed. I”m pretty sure this is always the case. My girls eat mostly grass and bugs – but they definitely eat a balanced feed as well.

    • Hi Andy,

      I worry though when I simply hear from farmers that they feed their chickens organic feed. PArt of me fears it includes organic soy, which I’ve been very diligent about removing from my diet.
      Send me some eggs sometime! 😉

  2. I love frittatas as a way of slipping a few greens into my son’s food, but I served them so often he got tired of them! I’m going to try out frittatas for one in my smallest skillet and chill them for lunches.

  3. This looks so good. You could also make these in mini muffin tins or even a muffin tin if you want to bake it. Kids would love the mini size – they could have 2 then. LOL

    Tina “The Book Lady”

  4. Pingback: 101 Real Food Recipes in 30 Minutes Hands-On or Less | Cooking Traditional Foods

Leave a Reply

