Recipe: Zucchini with Tomatoes

Are you finding yourself with an overload of zucchini from your garden? Or an overload from the gardens of your friends? I actually wish I had your problem. I like zucchini, but at the same time I find it’s a vegetable that wants additional flavors. I’ve grown bored with eating it sauteed in butter, and when searching for recipes over the weekend, learned for certain that you should not boil it. This makes sense, since it is a very water-heavy vegetable.

I want to eat zucchini, I really do like zucchini. (If you’re in southern New England and looking to pan off some to a wiling victim, let me know!) Zucchini is also apparently good for people with adrenal diseases: asthma, allergies, and eczema. I’ve suffered from the first two even though I almost never have a problem with them anymore. It’s the almost part which has me wanting to fully cure them. This is going to involve more than some zucchini; for one, I need to find some time to read Thomas Cowan’s The Fourfold Path to Healing. In the meantime, I work on finding more ways to prep this lovely vegetable.

This recipe comes from Nourishing Traditions. I cut the ingredients in half because I was only going to feed two adults with it, and I still had leftovers. It’s good! Zucchini and tomatoes work very well together for flavor.

Zucchini with tomatoes (Nourishing Traditions, p. 410.)
Serves 4

2 medium zucchini
2 medium onions, peeled and chopped
2 medium tomatoes, peeled, seeded and chopped*
1-2 cloves garlic, peeled and mashed
1/2 tsp. dried thyme
4 T. butter
4 T. extra virgin olive oil
1/2 tsp. pepper

1. Cut ends from zucchini, cut into quarters lengthwise and slice thinly.
2. Mix with sea salt and let stand about 1 hour.
3. Rinse in a colander and pat dry.
4. Saute zucchini in butter and olive oil in batches over medium-high heat until golden and set aside.
5. Saute onions in butter and oil until tender.
6. Add tomatoes, raise heat and saute a few minutes until the liquid is almost all absorbed.
7. Add zucchini, garlic, thyme, and pepper. Saute about 1 minute more until flavors are amalgamated.
Do not let the zucchini overcook!

*To peel the tomatoes, put one in boiling water for 5 seconds and remove with a slotted spoon. Score the skin and peel it off. To seed, cut tomato along the equator and squeeze gently over the sink.
This was the first time I used this method, and I know it’s going to take some practice to master.

Have you had a look at the fan page? Or my Twitter?

This post is a part of Real Food Wednesday. Be sure to check out the carnival for other delicious blog entries!

15 responses to “Recipe: Zucchini with Tomatoes

  1. Very interesting that zucchini is good for adrenal health! I posted on that a couple weeks ago and now it seems everyone’s talking about it! It’s important though. 🙂 Thanks, I love zucchini and tomatoes!

  2. I tried this recipe a few weeks ago because I had an overabundance of zucchini and tomatoes. Yummy!

  3. Never tried zucchini with tomatoes. I like it sauteed with onion and butter with melted raw cheese on top =)

  4. We eat this all the time – sometimes adding preserved lemons. We love it! Thanks for linking up to Simple Lives Thursday!

  5. FYI linking to this post in my blog on Tuesday. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Round Zucchinis Stuffed with Quinoa « Gal's Stuff

  7. Pingback: I believe in sharing what I learn | I Believe In Butter

  8. Soli!

    I made this yesterday for lunch and it was great! But what was really amazing is when I added the left overs to my scrambled eggs this morning! YUM!

    • syncreticmystic

      I can’t wait for zucchini and tomatoes to be in season here again so I can do the same. I am SO thrilled you liked it! Did Lucy eat any?

  9. Pingback: Diet for Adrenal Health | Modern Alternative Mama

  10. Pingback: Diet for Adrenal Health | Modern Alternative Mama

  11. Pingback: Diet for Adrenal Health | Modern Alternative Mama

  12. Pingback: overZealous Zucchini Round Up | Stitching Hearts Together

  13. Pingback: Diet for Adrenal Health - Modern Alternative HealthModern Alternative Health

Leave a Reply

