Jerusalem Artichokes – a new vegetable for your p(a)late

I regularly hunt for new vegetables to give some variety to my plate. It can get very dull to eat the same things over and over again, and it’s also fun for me to expand my palate. A few weeks ago I purchased some Jerusalem artichokes at the natural food market in order to give them a try. They’re delicious! For me, the taste is reminiscent of artichoke leaves and also kohlrabi. This would make sense, as the vegetable is a tuber.

The flower of the Jerusalem artichoke

Source

Jerusalem artichokes have been eating in the US for a very long time. First Nations people cultivated and ate the roots, and when Europeans came over to this country, they too began eating the plant. Its season runs the cooler time of the year: late fall through the middle of spring. So we are coming to the end of its time. If you want to try some, seek them out now or wait until September.
Unless you’re foraging for your own, don’t expect them to fill your plate. They run over $6 a pound at the store where I purchased them and they’re sold in half-pound portion.

The artichokes can be eaten a variety of ways, raw or lightly cooked/roasted. Don’t cook it for too long, or else it will fall apart quickly.

Jerusalem artichokes are legal on the Body Ecology Diet, and fall under the starchy vegetable category. If you’re on BED, they only combine with non-starchy vegetables. My meal below was not BED legal, but it was good. They are not a GAPS legal food.

I prepared the ‘chokes using the directions in Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon Morrel.

1. Scrub and peel the artichokes

2. Set in boiling water and boil for 10-15 minutes. Add lemon juice for the last five. I recommend only boiling for 10 minutes if you have a small amount like I did.

3. Slice the boiled roots. Handle gently: cooling them in cold water will make them mushy. (Yes, I tried it.)

4. Saute the sliced artichokes in butter. You can also mix the butter with olive oil or potentially use just olive oil or ghee.

5. Here I garnished them with some fresh greens (I think they were garlic scapes but I am not sure) but they are delicious on their own too. Enjoy!

Come join the discussion on Facebook and Twitter!

I’m sharing this post over at Real Food Wednesday, Simple Lives Thursday, Fresh Bites Friday, Fight Back Friday, Monday Mania, and Weekend Gourmet.

9 responses to “Jerusalem Artichokes – a new vegetable for your p(a)late

  1. Oh boy, I love these, too! My favorite way to prepare them is slow-roasted in the oven in chicken fat until they are golden and sort of caramely on the outside.

    And I was so excited the other day while digging around in my fridge to find some sunchokes that I purchased last fall but never ate (should I even admit that things go unfound in my fridge for that long?), and guess what? They were all sprouting! Now I’m just trying to decided where to plant them.

  2. Soli, I saw your post on Kelly the Kitchen Kop today! I would love to add you to the press list for Weston A. Price Foundation!

    Would you please email me your email address and phone number?

    Thanks,

    Kimberly

  3. We were given some roots to put in our garden last year and they did so well! They multiply like crazy so they are well worth growing yourself. 🙂

  4. sacajawea taught lewis and clark to eat jerusalem artichokes! \o/ i wrote that into an essay i won a prize for in fifth grade. (the weird stuff i remember…)

  5. I am looking for information on how First Nations peoples traditionally prepared jerusalem artichokes/sunchokes. I believe that they may have dried them and made a flour. Any thoughts?
    Thanks,

    Nick

  6. Pingback: Screaming Sardine › Artichokes and Apricots

Leave a Reply

