Milestones

If you follow me at all on social media this is going to be old news. For those of you who don’t, hold on to your hats.

Today I received notification that I am indeed graduating from my master’s program!


source

Part of me is still in shock I was even able to finish. When I was younger I was not always the best student. (No joking, if you saw the amount of fails I had in my past you would probably be shocked.) It was not until I was in my 30s that I was able to get my act together enough to do well on a consistent basis. What really helped me were two things. First, working full time (or nearly so) for many years. That built up discipline pretty fast. Second, and I swear it, doing the program online made it much easier. The temptation to skip a three hour class is pretty easy after a full day of work. But when you can pull the class up on your time, and not have to worry about falling asleep in the middle just because you’ve been so busy makes a world of difference. I feel like a poster child for the benefits of a virtual education.

And a little note for all of you parents who might be worried about your child/ren’s academic performance. I had a lot of problems which led to those failures, including ADD, depression, and most problematic for me, boredom.
The fact that I have complete this degree, and with as high a GPA as I did still astounds me.
Keep believing in your kids and encouraging them and supporting them. Don’t live their life or do their homework for them. It’s more than OK for them to do poorly, and yes to even fail. I certainly did it enough in my past. And it taught me lessons that no school can possible share.
At some point they will find their interests, and their groove. If I could do it, anyone can. You have to want it.
In the words of Leo the Late Bloomer (a perfect picture book for any kid like I was) “I did it!”

Come join the fun on Facebook and follow me on Twitter!

6 responses to “Milestones

  1. What a lovely testimony. I have some kids with their own struggles such as you have mentioned… and then some. I had to let my 16 year old do some free floating… she is now 17 and working at her first regular job. I am pretty sure she will someday do college but she’s a late bloomer for sure, an incredible artist with a very astute sense of people. Your story is reassuring for those of us who are parents that have decided to let our children bloom when they are ready.

    • When I was little, my interests were math, science, animals, and daydreaming. I did well in the classes that were easy. If I didn’t get something, I didn’t get it and just stopped trying. Even now it’s tempting to do that, but I don’t.

      Forcing your child into things like that isn’t going to help much. Sometimes you need to fall on your bum. Sometimes several times. Bruises don’t kill after all. 🙂

  2. Congratulations again. I’m not going to stop saying this. xD

    Sometimes I feel like “the poster child for virtual education” too. I failed horribly in school as a kid, but for different reasons. My issues were social. I had great aptitude, but could not concentrate in the presence of the other children and frequent bullying. I was constantly terrified, often too terrified to even speak. As an adult, live classrooms still present obstacles for me, a lot of which stem from the trauma of Elementary and High School. But, take away the face-to-face interaction with people, and I do really well.

    • I expect you’ll still be saying it in February. 😉

      Your words make me wonder if the experience of doing school online is what helped me work on my own skills for speaking up and speaking out. It’s tough when you have the conditioning to keep silent. Text is like practice for voice.

  3. Excellent post & a reminder to trust & encourage no matter what it “looks like”.
    Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Pingback: I believe in resolutions. Realistic resolutions at that. | I Believe In Butter

Leave a Reply

