As seen on the internet and weekend food plans December 16, 2011

Since I don’t get to post as much as I’d like to here on the blog, I wind up sharing a lot over on Facebook. Not everyone is on FB and even there I don’t get to share everything, so I am going to start doing roundups like this in order to share my finds further.

First is a WWII posted I came across on Flickr.


source

Isn’t that awesome? Overcooking takes the nutrients out of your food, so this is still good advice.

Now on to some links!
Have you ever wondered about Sally Fallon Morrell’s (the founder of the Weston A. Price Foundation and modern mother of traditional foods) home life? Does she really have time to make all those nutrient dense foods she promotes? Yes she does, and then some! Jill from Farm Food Blog took a trip to Sally’s farm this past weekend and posted a LOT of photos and information. Here you can see the property (and what adorable pigs!), here facilities for milking and keeping the fresh raw milk clean, and the cheese making facilities.
Anyone around the northeast who wants to make a visit? I’ll gladly go along for the ride!

Speaking of farms, have you been hearing about the recent farm bill? Maybe you’re not sure what exactly is going on with this bill. Jessica from Delicious Obsessions shares material on the bill and ways you can contribute your voice.

The Nourishing our Children project now has a blog. NOC is dedicated to teaching people about real, traditional food, and how to make kids healthier with it. The post I have linked is information Sandrine shared on Facebook this week regarding candles. If you’re thinking of buying some as a gift, you definitely want to take a look. Conventional candles are a source of indoor air pollution if they’re made of paraffin. Instead of grabbing some candles from a big box store, perhaps look for beeswax or soy candles.

I haven’t had kids yet, but I hope to. In the meantime I keep learning more and more about options for pregnancy and childbirth. Sarah from Healthy Home Economist wrote about her experiences with delayed labor and how she got help with acupuncture. I have to say this sounds like a much less stressful option than getting shot up with medication to force open the womb.
If you’re feeling daring (and not at work) perhaps you’d be willing to consider hearing about giving birth as a pleasurable experience. HellaDelicious shared a story about women having, shall we say, a high level of pleasure during childbirth. It’s not for everyone and not everyone will experience it, but it might help shift our cultural perception of childbirth from one of agony to one of joy.

Are you still looking for ideas of homemade gifts for the upcoming holidays? Food Renegade has some ideas here, and so does Frugally Sustainable. FS is a newer blog and a treasure trove of information and ideas.

What’s happening in the kitchen this weekend?

These are simply aspirations. They might not happen for real. I’m going to try.

If the chocolate I ordered comes in by Saturday, I will be making Jenn’s truffles and peppermint patties, to be gifts for a few people. At the last I can get the other needed ingredients (like spices) and make coconut butter for the patties.
My mom also got a selection of oranges from a friend of hers. Since she doesn’t eat a lot of sugar now and I forget when fruit is in the house, I gotta use up that lovely citrus before it rots. Therefore I am going to try making the orange marmalade recipe in Nourishing Traditions.

What do you all have planned for the weekend?

Come join the fun on Facebook and follow me on Twitter!

9 responses to “As seen on the internet and weekend food plans December 16, 2011

  1. I have to finish up with the holiday gifts as well! 🙂 Sounds like you have some fun kitchen times ahead! If you make the truffles, I hope you enjoy them!

  2. When I read the article on Sally’s farm, it mentioned how the cows get a small daily ration of ‘grains’ that were soaked in vinegar while being milked. It was my understanding ( according to WAPF ) that cows should never eat grains. Only green grasses and hay. what gives?

    • I am wondering about that too. Perhaps Jill can ask Sally about the reasoning for this. Perhaps it’s on a similar principle to soaking grains for people consumption.

    • Shakti, I asked Jill about it on fb and this is what I got back from her:
      “Hi Soli, I think people misconstrue; I don’t think she says “cows should never have grains.” She says cows should be on pasture. Some grain during milking is okay. She soaks hers just like she recommends soaking grains for humans. Someone else put a comment about the grain on my site so I asked Sally for a specific quote from her to address this. She said: “In all of our suggestions on dairy farming, we have allowed some grain to be given to dairy cows–up to 5% of body weight per day. (We are giving about 2% of body weight) There are two reasons for this. First is that in a natural setting…, ruminants would be getting some grain in the seed heads of mature grasses. And second, dairy cows are more stressed than cows in the wild, producing more milk than a natural cow would–even low-production cows like our own. If we did not give the grain, the cows would be very very thin. By soaking in vinegar water, we make the grains very digestible for the cows.The vast majority of raw milk producers are giving some grain to their cows. Those who don’t are obliged to charge $12-13 per gallon in order for the farm to be economically viable.”

      • This was a hot topic between a friend and I, so I will be sure to let her know what the answer was.
        Thank you so much for the reply!

  3. Shakti, I’m glad you asked because I had wondered but not thought to ask for myself. Very interesting answer.

  4. Interesting answer indeed. I don’t exactly feel good about it though. I know in the case of my farmer who feeds exclusively grass, his cows are not skinny, stressed or over milked, and a gallon is only around $8. I have also read Joe Salatin’s books and don’t remember any mention of grains. (I would have to go back and re-read it to be sure)
    I am also confused as to why the grains would be soaked in the first place. I have complete understanding as to why a human would need to do this, but to take that same approach when feeding a cow doesn’t make much sense to me. If a cow were to eat some grain naturally in the wild, it’s certainly not going to soak it first, which is why a cow has more then 1 stomach.
    Members of my food group were also confused by the answer and one of them is going to ask our farmer for more information on this subject.

    • Do let me know what your farmer says. This could become an interesting dialog. Where in the country are you btw?

      • i’m in New Jersey. My farmer is Amish and only checks phone messages once or twice a week in case there is an emergency. but he will use the phone to call us with any farm related questions. I will certainly let you know what he said.

Leave a Reply

