As seen on the internet and weekend food plans December 23, 2011

Let me tell you what the best part of being done with my graduate work is.
It’s being able to read anything I want, whenever I want, without a cloud of obligation hanging over my head. For the last few years any time I would do something fun for myself, there was a little nagging voice reminding me of what I could or should be doing at that time instead. Maybe this is what causes so much of the stress for people in graduate studies. It’s not the workload itself, but the feeling that I should somehow work on it all the time.

So to celebrate, I am catching up on a lot of online reading and even adding new blogs to read. If you have anything related to real food or domesticity from an unconventional source, leave a comment!

A sampling of what I’ve been reading this week, and there are indeed many of them:

Just out this morning, Kelly presents up with the words of Chris Kerston from Chaffin Family Farms about why quality olive oil matters, and what you’re really going to find on the shelves in the supermarket.
Consider this if you think olive oil is a must have: it’s a food trend, and recent. Before the 1980s, the people most likely to have olive oil in their kitchen were people who were actually from the Mediterranean. People from Spain, Italy, Greece, etc. It was a part of their food culture, plain and simple. I’m not trying to discourage anyone from keeping olive oil in their kitchen, just trying to bring in some perspective. There’s a huge Italian population where I live still, so olive oil wasn’t all that strange to me.

Body Ecology presents very good tips for eating better during these holidays.

Something I love about being in the real food community is that I periodically learn of new methods of healing. Health, Home, and Happiness is the latest place where I’ve seen talk of using clay. Have any of you done this? I wonder if I should look into it for general knowledge.

It’s not uncommon for people to filter their water. Considering the amount of chemicals which end up in municipal supplies this is not a bad idea at all. (Incidentally, if you think bottled water will help in this, it won’t. Many are bottled from the same sources as peoples’ taps.) Food Renegade points out that unfiltered bathing water is also not good for you since things like chlorine can permeate the skin and kill off the good bacteria in the body.

Sasquatch and the Scientician is the brainchild of a friend of mine (she’s the Scientician), and the url should tell you everything. “We Will Eat It.” There is only one post so far, but when you start a blog of eating off with the world’s most notorious fruit, you’re in for something good.

Melissa over at Cellulite Investigation gives an update on her continuing personal work to detox from excessive fluoride. Her works is inspirational for anyone who’s trying to clear up chronic health issues.

Speaking of olive oil, Jill from Farm Food Blog has taken then plunge into making cured olives at home. If you’re an olive lover, this is a must read and certainly something to consider.

Last week I mentioned Nourishing Our Children’s post about chemicals in candles. This week AnnMarie lists some other options for candles which are much safer for your home environment.

My doppleganger, ButterBeliever, talks about an antioxidant local to her in Hawai’i.

I think Frugally Sustainable has morphed into one of my favorite blogs. Frugal, traditional foods and green living? That’s what I want! This week she has a tutorial for making horehound lozenges for coughs. Last month I had an allergy explosion (my one remaining chronic issue) which also led into a lot of coughing. One morning I got so fed up I decided to look for lozenges at the market by the bus stop. When I saw the ingredient list, I ran out fast. Soy and high fructose corn syrup. Are you KIDDING me? I want to feel BETTER!
I do have a homemade cough remedy I like to use, and picked up some slippery elm lozenges to help then. Next year I will be making my own lozenges too. You never know when you might need them.

Finally, Jessica from Delicious Obsessions posted one of the best videos I have seen in a long time. I know I want a dog someday. Now I think I want goats too.

Weekend food plans? Well, tomorrow night is Christmas, which means I need to be around the kitchen a lot preparing a variety of pork products. If I get a chance I will do photo documentation and share here next week. Whethere you celebrate Yule, Christmas, Hannukah, Kwanzaa, or even nothing, I wish you a wonderful and peaceful weekend.

7 responses to “As seen on the internet and weekend food plans December 23, 2011

  1. Hey! Just thought I would stop by and say hi! My blog looks so similar to yours! Thanks for sharing all the great links!

  2. Thanks for the shout out, Soli! That video is such a hoot! I crack up every time I watch it! πŸ™‚

  3. What a great round up of posts! I can’t wait to try your swedish pancakes and gravlax!~ Happy New year!

  4. Narf! I just realized I commented on the wrong post. Apply that sentiment to your newest post.

Leave a Reply

