As seen on the internet and weekend food plans January 13, 2012

This week it’s the I’m taking a little vacation and going to Boston for the weekend edition! Hopefully my plans will indeed include a good dose of seafood with friends. Ideally it will be lobster because one of my friends (hi Tamara!) said I should eat some for her. That’s not a task I can easily turn down! Hopefully it won’t break the bank either.

So since I am not going to be home, my food plans are going to revolve around finding good, nourishing food to eat which will not break the bank, while enjoying the company of friends I don’t get to see very often.

So, on to some links!

First item: if you think the general shift to “healthy eating” isn’t having any major impact, think again. Hostess, maker of such wonders of industrial food as Wonder bread and Twinkies, has filed for chapter 11 bankruptcy protection. Never fear if you still like their products: Twinkies have something of an indefinite shelf life.

Lisa at Real Food Digest has posted what is perhaps the easiest sauerkraut recipe ever. If you have never tried traditional sauerkraut, you’re missing out on a treat. That stuff you got in a little plastic dish in elementary school has nothing on the real deal.

Speaking of cultured food, my friend Jessica of Delicious Obsessions has apparently declared 2012 to be the year of probiotic foods. Her series, 52 weeks of bad-a$$ bacteria kicked off this week with lacto-fermented garlic. This is something I have wanted to make for a while but I haven’t seen any good garlic bulbs yet.

Sometimes simple recipes are the best ones. Diane from A Little Bit of Spain in Iowa shares roast chicken with root vegetables.

It’s Girl Scout Cookie season, but do you really want to eat them? Nourishing Our Children has an excellent post up about these cookies, along with the original recipe. If you haven’t seen the post yet, check it out!

This post from Boing Boing caught my attention. I had my tonsils out when I was 10 because I always had sore throats. But after the removal, I still had problems. Here’s an interesting post with potential links between tonsillectomies and contracting polio. It may be coincidence, it may not. But keep in mind that all the systems of the body are tied together.

Are you still considering new year’s resolutions? Do you want to exercise more? There’s a kettelbell challenge starting up soon with Cheeseslave. Further, Grass-Fed Girl and Divine Health have some good tips on exercising. Remember not to overdo things at first!

What are you all planning for this weekend? Have you been reading anything interesting?

Come join the fun on Facebook and follow me on Twitter!

4 responses to “As seen on the internet and weekend food plans January 13, 2012

  1. Hey Soli- there are some great links in here. I am especially loving the one about Girl Scout Cookies! 🙂

    Thanks for the link love!

    • You’re welcome! I’ve known about your blog for a while but only recently started reading. Enjoying what you do there.

  2. Thanks for the shout out Soli! 🙂 Great post and I hope you have fun in Boston!

    Speaking of girl scout cookies, did you see the recent recipe from Nourishing Gourmet? I’m planning on making these soon … like as in tomorrow! 🙂

    http://www.thenourishinggourmet.com/2012/01/all-natural-thin-mint-cookies-gluten-free-if-desired.html

Leave a Reply

