Making a better oatmeal

I’m on a soaking kick this week apparently! There is a method to my madness but you have to wait until tomorrow to see what’s in the works in my kitchen.

We may be one day away from the start of summer, but that’s not stopping me from eating oatmeal for breakfast on a regular breakfast. It’s hearty, nutritious, and easy to prepare with this recipe.

By soaking the oatmeal in an acid overnight, you break down the phytic acid content. This gives you a more easily digested oatmeal, and your body can soak up a lot more of the nutrients. Please don’t use quick oats for this recipe. There’s very little of the actual oat present, which means minimal nutrient content.

Soaked Oatmeal
(originally sourced in Nourishing Traditions)
(makes one serving for adult who enjoys breakfast. Adjust amounts accordingly for the amount of people eating.)
1/2 cup rolled/chopped oats
1/2 cup warm filtered water (I use room temperature)
1 T. whole wheat flour
1 T. whey/lemon juice/Bragg’s apple cider vinegar (I use the latter)
1/2 t. sea salt
1/2 cup filtered water

The night/day before:
1. Combine water, oats, acid, and flour. I learned about adding the flour in this post from Cheeseslave.

I soaked the oatmeal with warm water, whey and 10% whole wheat flour. According to the Rebuild From Depression website, you need to add 10% whole wheat flour to oatmeal when soaking, because oatmeal doesn’t contain phytase. Therefore you need to add a little wheat flour to provide the phytase enzyme, which helps break down the phytic acid. (I don’t have any other sources for this so I can’t verify it — but I figure we are better safe than sorry. What’s the point of going to all this trouble soaking and drying oats if it doesn’t work?)

If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you can use buckwheat flour instead.

2. Allow mixture to soak for at least 12 hours. Since I am normally cooking around 6am, I make sure to have everything prepped by 6pm the previous evening.

3. In the morning add additional water and sea salt. Cook on medium heat until water is fully absorbed. (Truth, I actually boil it to start, then turn down when the mixture is boiling)

There are a host of ways to serve the oatmeal. I tend to stick to this one.

Add to bowl: Heaping spoonful of coconut oil. 1-2 T. grade B maple syrup (and if you do this PLEASE use the real deal and not that high fructose corn syrup abomination ), add in oats, top with milk kefir, cinnamon, and crispy almonds. KerryAnn from Cooking Traditional Foods lists some more ideas to add to your oatmeal in this post.

Come join the fun on Facebook, remember to hit add to news feed so you don’t miss posts, and follow me on Twitter!

I’m sharing this post at Traditional Tuesday, Real Food Wednesday, Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways, Simple Lives Thursday, Fresh Bites Friday, and Fight Back Friday.

9 responses to “Making a better oatmeal

  1. That looks like a great, hearty breakfast. I’m going to have to try this.

    • at some point I am going to start buying steel cut oats just to see how the taste differs. but yes, sticks to your ribs definitely applies here.

  2. Pingback: Chocolate balls: a Swedish Midsummer treat | I Believe In Butter

  3. I was just told about soaking the other day. Soaking nuts specifically. I eat so much oatmeal that perhaps I will look into this. Thanks for the post.

  4. Quick oats have the same nutrient content as old fashioned oats. They are just cut into smaller pieces. Both are whole grain.

  5. Pingback: A Top 12 for 2012 | I Believe In Butter

  6. Pingback: Oatmeal the Nourishing Traditions way…Move over Wilfred Brimley, there’s a new oatmeal in town! | Palmer Fancy-Freelance

  7. Pingback: Soli’s overloaded museli | I Believe In Butter

Leave a Reply

