A recipe: roasted gazpacho

The days are still warm and sunny here, but the change of seasons is already in the air. Leaves turning, acorns falling (more on that soon), crickets singing at 5pm, and that hint of change, a tang in the atmosphere.

I love autumn. But I’m not ready to let go of the summer just yet.

Fortunately the farmer’s market is still rife with summer’s bounty. And I am still scouring cookbooks, finding tempting recipes to make up for a week’s worth of lunches. I found this one in How to Cook Everything by Mark Bittman. As much as I am not a fan of his current food policies, he still crafts and finds some good recipes. When I first made up this soup a few weeks ago, I used orange tomatoes. And luxuriated in several meals of a delicious golden bounty. If you still have a glut of vegetables from your CSA, this may provide inspiration for you.

The original recipe also calls for stale bread and croutons, which I did not have. The directions also suggest straining to get out any remaining seeds or bits of skin. I didn’t bother, because I prefer a “rustic” taste. What can I say? I like hearty soups.

The ingredient which makes a gazpacho a gazpacho is vinegar. The original recipe called for sherry vinegar. I have substituted real apple cider vinegar for two reasons. First, I had it on hand. Second, ACV is wonderful for your digestion. Give it a try!

Roasted Gazpacho
Makes a lot! (The book says six servings. I get 5-6 lunches out of this, with some left over.)

Ingredients:
4 ripe tomatoes
2 small or 1 medium eggplant
4 small or 2 medium zucchinis
2 medium onions
10 cloves of garlic, peeled
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar (get the real deal. I like Bragg’s.)
4 cups water
Salt and pepper to taste
Plain yogurt, sour cream, or creme fraiche for garnish (optional)

Equipment:
Roasting pan, dutch oven, or baking sheets
Large bowl
Measuring cup
Blender, standing or immersion

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400F.

2. Chop vegetables into large chunks. Put vegetables, garlic, and olive oil into or on cooking device. Put in preheated oven for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. (Which I did not do and it turned out fine.)

3. Let cool if you like. I do this because it’s easier working with the food when it’s not piping hot.

4. Put the mix into your bowl and add the water, vinegar, salt, and pepper.

5. Blend ingredients together until smooth. Put soup through a strainer if you like. Test for taste now!

6. Refrigerate for several hours or overnight.

7. Serve!


Told you it made a lot! That’s a 4 quart bowl, filled to the rim with the richness.

Happy eating!

Be sure to like me on Facebook, and follow my day to day stuff on Twitter!

I’m sharing this post at Monday Mania, Make your own Monday, Traditional Tuesday, Real Food Wednesday, Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways, Simple Lives Thursday, Fresh Bites Friday, Freaky Friday, Seasonal Celebration Sunday, and Sunday School!

5 responses to “A recipe: roasted gazpacho

  1. I love the end of Summer bounty, we have tomatoes and zucchini (we say courgettes) still to harvest, so I will bookmark this delicious sounding soup. x

  2. Thank you for your submission on Nourishing Treasures’ Make Your Own! Monday link-up.

    Check back tomorrow when the new link-up is running to see if you were one of the top 3 featured posts! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Cool meals for hot days | I Believe In Butter

  4. Pingback: overZealous Zucchini Recipe Round Up | Stitching Hearts Together

Leave a Reply

