Winter preparation, or, How one acorn harshed my summer mellow

With a nod to the BMG for the title inspiration.

I took this photo, and posted it to Twitter and Facebook, on 15 August. Dead middle of the month, still high summer in my mind. And here comes a reminder of the turning seasons much earlier than I would like. Thank you oak tree for telling me that winter is coming.

This has happened here before, not that long ago. In 2010, acorns were falling fast, large and heavy ones at that. And wouldn’t you know, that winter we had the worst winter of my life. Granted, I am not old enough to remember the blizzard of 1978, but that was one storm. 2010-2011 saw a time of snowstorms and blizzards on a weekly basis. When the snow piles all around you are so high that you can’t see over them (and you are no short woman), you’re getting a lot of snow.

The moment my mind fully registered that acorn, I fired off a text to my dear friend Ms. Janice. She was the person who originally alerted me to the onslaught of acorns coming so early two years ago. Which means we needed to dine together to strategize our winter planning. In case something happens, such as being homebound for a several days or power going out, I want to be prepared.

Ms. Janice has been a big fan of the Little House… books since her youth and takes some of her inspiration from them. The key is to know your storage areas and use them to their best advantage. One tip I will be putting into practice, should we lose power and have below freezing temperatures, is to turn the balcony into fridge and freezer. Especially if there is a good amount of snow and little chance of it melting quickly. What better way to keep that food from spoiling?

I’m also starting to clean out the freezer of various items. Most notably a nice collection of bones, meaning there will be plenty of chicken, beef, goat, and lamb broths made this fall. I also have several pounds of both pork and chicken liver to turn into pates. My friend Buster has also suggested doing confit meats, which are new to me but I am not adverse to trying them. To see more ideas of what my awesome readers have suggested, see this thread on my fan page. For food which can be stored without cold, I am planning to get seeds, legumes, and grains which can be soaked and sprouted.

As for foods to be purchased, I’ll be buying more meats and fish to be frozen during the fall. Included in those meats will definitely be organ meats like liver, heart, and trying out some new ones like kidneys and maybe even tongue. Organ meat packs a major punch of nutrition, and if winter is that cold and hard, I’m going to need all the extra vitamins and minerals I can get. I’m also planning to get more cans of wild-caught fish, which can be eaten without heating.

I don’t know yet what I will do for vegetables, but as the months continue I might find some ideas.

I haven’t yet figured out a way to heat food without power in the house. If you have any ideas please share them here. I am also planning to make some elderberry tincture next weekend (and I promise to post about this when it happens!), and purchase a combination flashlight/radio/mobile phone charger which is powered by a crank.

For mid-September, I hope this is a good start for preparing for cold. What do you think?

Do you plan in anticipation of bad seasons or other potential hazards like earthquakes? What’s your strategy? What tips can you offer someone new to this practice?

Be sure to like me on Facebook, and follow my day to day stuff on Twitter!

I’m sharing this post at Monday Mania, Make Your Own Monday, Traditional Tuesday, Real Food Wednesday, Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways, Simple Lives Thursday, Freaky Friday, Fresh Bites Friday, Fight Back Friday, and Sunday School!

4 responses to “Winter preparation, or, How one acorn harshed my summer mellow

  1. Consider a camping stove that takes either propane canister or liquid fuel. I know that carbon monoxide is a concern so either cook outside or near a window that can be opened for fresh air. I don’t know if you can or even want to try to cook over sterno.

    • Thank you for the suggestion Tammy. It’s probably about the only option available which is safe. If I end up getting expect a post about it!

  2. Thank you for your submission on Nourishing Treasures’ Make Your Own! Monday link-up.

    Check back tomorrow when the new link-up is running to see if you were one of the top 3 featured posts! 🙂

  3. Pingback: How to make an elderberry tincture – Winter is coming | I Believe In Butter

Leave a Reply

