Slices of life: Confession time

Somehow writing up a post like this is easier when the typing is happening in my head and not on the laptop.

I haven’t wanted to talk to this for a few reasons, mostly that I am a private person and that I am on the job market. The last thing I wanted was a potential employer to find out my health was not in the best shape. It could affect hiring. But so far I am not getting called back for interviews and I want to get back on this horse.

There is something wrong with me health-wise. So far I don’t know what it is. It started in August 2011, when I finished up my coursework for my Master’s degree. I think coming off that nearly constant stress and adrenaline push to get everything done is what kept my body from showing any problems beforehand. And after that, oh… I was tired at all the time. My brain turned into fog, and I had trouble with focus and concentration. And as time went on it got worse. I would cancel plans, not go out and see people. After several months of this, my weight started to go back up again. Between 2002 and 2008 I lost 90 pounds. Within a year I gained back 50.

In January of this year I hit my breaking. It had been almost 18 months since the problems began and they were only getting a little better as time went on. I went to a doctor to get tested for hypothyroidism and see if they had any other ideas of what might be wrong. The first test came back as borderline hypothyroid. I was given two options with the result: pills or visiting an endocrinologist. I opted for the latter, which turned out to be a good thing. The endocrinologist said that my level was not worth going on medication. When he dispenses it, it is for patients with levels that would have made mine look very normal. And it’s immaterial. The second test done for my thyroid showed that they were fine. In fact, all my numbers were great.

But I’m still tired a lot. My usual vim and vigor remain low. And I am not sure what to do. I have started working with my friend Bari in her professional capacity as holistic nutritionist. Now that we have had some appointments and time to talk, her first big recommendation was for me to go gluten free. It is taking me a little while to get there, between gathering together the food replacements and planning new menus.

Which means I need to get back to cooking in a big way. And that means fodder for posts to put up here.

And May is going to be a busy month. I have 2 (!) giveaway in the works and an ebook sale package coming up, all thanks to the wonder women in the Nourished Living Network. Plus my favorite band will be playing a few shows in New York City and there is no way I am not going to be there for most of them. Then add to that the end of the fiscal year coming up at my job. The job where I have been doing the work of 2+ people since the fall, because two of my coworkers retired last year. Let me tell you, that has been a lot of fun while feeling like I have been. Thankfully everyone has been sympathetic to how I have been feeling and we’re all helping each other where we can.

This all means I am going to marshal what energy I do have and make the most of it. For a long time it’s been too easy to lose myself in watching shows on Netflix, playing video games, and sometimes just staring at the computer without doing anything else. That is not me. My ambitious, energetic self still remembers what it feels like to DO a lot, and wants it back.

I would also like to say a heart-felt thank you to every single person who has been liking me on Facebook this year. One of my hopes for 2013 is to push my fan numbers up to 2,000. When I started the year it was a little over 1,000. Getting halfway to my goal in only 5 months still astounds me. Especially considering I have been a lot more quiet. So thank you all.

One response to “Slices of life: Confession time

  1. Pingback: Good bye gluten, I’ll miss you… and hello fun times! | I Believe In Butter

Leave a Reply

