Cool meals for hot days

summer
Summer used under Creative Commons license

I can’t speak for anywhere else, but let me tell you, Connecticut is already too hot and humid for my liking. All I want to do is wear sundresses, chug down water, and sprawl out to keep cool. The last thing I want is to make hot meals, day in and day out. So this link round-up is done first and foremost out of selfish reasons. I want more cool meals!

Sometimes it feels to me like there are only a few options for food without heat. Salads are high on that list. As a general rule, I hate salads. It’s not easy for me to put together a salad which is filling enough for me to feel sated from a meal. If I decide I am going to do a week of salads for my work lunches, I start to resent them by around… oh, Tuesday.

For this project I turned to the collective wisdom of the Nourished Living Network as well as some other sources I enjoy to share some of the best cool meals. You can find something for any time of day here: breakfast through dinner, dessert and snacks, and drinks!

Drinks and smoothies

Peach leaf and rose tea

Peppermint iced coffee

Agua de sandia

Coconut water green drink

Coconut avocado smoothie

Chocolate banana shake

Orange green smoothie

Strawberry watermelon slushee

Chocolate kefir smoothie

Breakfast

Museli (which I hope to try this weekend)

Grain free apple museli

Soups

Yellow crookneck squash and pea soup

Mint melon gazpacho

Roasted gazpacho (okay I lied a little, but it’s worth putting the veggies in the oven to make this one!)

Sides and Salads

Carrot salad

Spicy garlic, cabbage, and carrot slaw with probiotic dressing

Black radish slaw

Tuna pea salad

Salmon ball

Black eyed pea salad

Coleslaw

Mediterranean cucumber, tomato, and mint salad

Colorful double bean veggie salad

Chicken salad with dried apricots, green onions, and pecans

Tuscan bread salad

Carrot and kohlrabi salad

Pineapple chutney

Probiotic cranberry chutney

Fermented spiced watermelon rind

Watermelon salsa

Sprouted quinoa salad/tabbouleh

Entrees

Cilantro lime chicken salad

5 Thai basil wrap recipes

Multiple salmon recipes

3 dishes from sprouted lentils

Wild salmon, bread and cheese

Kid friendly kebabs

Snacks and desserts

Green pesto 3 ways

Smoothie Pops

No bake chocolate peanut butter bars

Homemade fruit snacks

Homemade mint jelly

Banana mango strawberry bullet popsicles

Strawberry lemonade popsicles

Dairy-free soft serve ice cream

Coconut nut pie

Herbal honeys

Coconut cream truffles

Dairy-free vanilla ice cream

Mint chocolate chip ice cream

Almond peanut butter protein snacks

Chocolate energy bars

Raw chocolate pudding

Lemon Italian cream

Lemon frozen yogurt

Salmon dip

Sprouted lentil hummus

Guacamole

Cultured deviled eggs

Now it’s YOUR turn to share! What are you eating this summer?

I’m sharing this post at Hearth and Soul Hop, Traditional Tuesday, Real Food Wednesday, Party Wave Wednesday, Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways, Simple Lives Thursday, Tasty Traditions, and Sunday School!

Don’t forget to look me up on Facebook and follow me on Twitter!

19 responses to “Cool meals for hot days

  1. What a great round up of stay-cool meals when you don’t want to crank up the oven! Thank you so much! šŸ™‚

  2. Oh wow! Thank you so much for this!! I will need to spend a lot more time perusing these recipes you have collected! I agree with you about salads (except for this one) As for our summer habits, I like grilling! Take the heat outdoors, where it belongs! When I want something more substantial I prep a roast and veggies, toss it in the crock pot and walk away so at least I don’t have to deal with the hot kitchen! šŸ˜‰ Heck, I just realized I could technically put the crock pot outside too! Ha!

    We tend to eat lighter and later when its hot here in Colorado (gets into the 90s many days – hard to believe)! So, when you feel you are suffering from heat, know that I probably am too!! Misery loves company! ā¤ Thanks again for the great list of recipes!!

    • Hey, I am in Connecticut. This week it’s been too sticky to spend any amount of time outside and much hotter than I like.

      KEep checking back, both for the comments and because I hope to add a few more items. Realized after this went up I forgot to put anything of my own to share!

  3. I practically live on salads in the summer. Looking forward to try out these recipes! šŸ™‚

  4. This is a great roundup! We shared this with our readers on Facebook at homesteadlady.com.

  5. Thanks for the link love Soli! šŸ™‚

  6. LOVE this list! I wish I had seen it yesterday, when it was SO hot in my kitchen that I could only think to make smoothies for dinner. I eventually broke down and made a salad too. But I will certainly be referring back to this fantastic list as a resource!

    • Well, I will also give you a heads up. Next week I am going to be posting my favorite cool meal for summer!

  7. The one that really sticks out for me is the black-eyed pea salad. I only eat black-eyed peas on January 1 but I feel like I need to incorporate far more into my life, they’re so good šŸ™‚

    • Well they are certainly more affordable than, say, an ice cream dinner. Which I have been very tempted to do this week.

  8. Pingback: Week in Review - July 6 | Cultured Palate

  9. We are only just getting some warmer weather here in England and finally some sunshine – so we are beginning to enjoy some lighter meals šŸ™‚ This post is a great resource, with so many recipes. Thank you for sharing it with the Hearth and Soul hop. I especially like the Peach Leaf and Rose Tea and the Homemade Mint Jelly!

    • Hope you find some you enjoy April! Also check out this week’s offering, though I do not know what the price is like for avocados in the UK.

  10. Pingback: Soli’s overloaded museli | I Believe In Butter

Leave a Reply

