A sweet treat for your face

Alright ladies, I am sure the question I am about to ask will bring up a sea of hands. How many of you read teen fashion magazines when you were younger and loved it when they did at-home spa articles? You know the ones, with beauty treatments coming out of your kitchen?

I never stopped loving those.

Yes, some of it was the deep desire for acceptance and to do things like everyone else, but most of all I just liked doing those treatments. I had some acne and “combination” skin, so anything to make it better.

With my increased focus on green living and health I want to either make or buy beauty products which I could conceivably make in my own house. Better for my skin, my health, the land, and my purse. And it’s fun!

For a while I have used the oil cleansing method for my skin. It’s been alright for me, but I have never varied it enough, either in ratios or in types of oil, to find a good mix for me. Then I got reminded of another method which I have heard about occasionally in the last few years,

Untitled

Honey. One of the most delicious things I eat. And now I also put it on my face!

Trying it out as a wash was just another of my whims. It felt so good! My skin was smooth as anything when I was done, and it glowed. Among the various benefits of using honey to wash your face are:
*moisturizing while also being slightly drying (great for oily skin too!)
*naturally antimicrobial
*repairs the skin
(sourced from Crunchy Betty)
I also swear it acts as a mild exfoliant, because my skin feels much smoother when the process is done.

Before you wash. be sure of the source of your honey. You do want the read deal and not something coming from bees fed high fructose corn syrup.

To wash your face in honey, you will need just a few things.
*A small amount of honey from a trusted source, about 1/2 teaspoon. (I put it in a small dish and take it in to the bathroom)
*Warm-hot water
*A clean washcloth
*Something to keep your hair out of your face

To Do
1. Take the honey in hand and start rubbing it in to the skin on your face.
2. Let the honey sit on your skin for a minute or two to recapture that “masque” feeling.
3. Soak the washcloth in the warm-hot water and let sit on the face. Repeat until all the honey has come off.
4. Rinse off the washcloth then soak it with cool water. Apply to the skin to tighten up the pores.
5. Admire your beautiful skin!

What do you use to keep yourself beautiful? And do not forget, all of you are beautiful!

Be sure to connect with me on Facebook and follow me on Twitter!

I’m sharing this post at Traditional Tuesday, Hearth and Soul Hop, Real Food Wednesday, Party Wave Wednesday, Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways, Tasty Traditions, and Simple Lives Thursday!

12 responses to “A sweet treat for your face

  1. Isn’t honey astringent? I know it’s a good antibiotic. Thank you for this, Soli, I’m definitely going to try this. Your skin looks wonderful, by the way! πŸ™‚

  2. I need to try this. Does it help tighten up your pores?

  3. So it is good for acne prone skin? I have tried the ocm but I just can’t get it to work for me..

    • It should, yes. Let me know how it works for you. I wish I had known about this when I was younger too.

      • Me too Soli! But.. I am now older and wiser but zitty as all get out :-\ ! Thank you and I will. I just found your page, can’t wait to peruse it and am glad to be ‘on board’ as it were πŸ™‚

  4. Pinning this for our readers!!!

  5. What a lovely idea. I have used natural products on my skin before but have not tried honey. It’s wonderful you have had such great results with it!

Leave a Reply

