Soli’s overloaded muesli

Back in the summer, when it was super hot and muggy and I needed some inspiration for meals I could make without heat, I put together this list of meals to cover the gamut from breakfast through dessert. One which captured my interest was a simple recipe Wardee had shared in her podcast at that time.

Homemade muesli. All I could say was wow, what genius! Soak some oats (gluten-free in my case) overnight and then add in whatever I may want to eat with it in the morning.  Even with the oncoming autumn and drop in temperatures, I think I am going to continue using this method of preparation instead of making hot oatmeal for myself.

Two of the big ingredients I try to include whenever I make the oatmeal are chia seeds and powdered gelatin. Chia seeds are a good source of fiber and protein, minerals, and beneficial fatty acids, while gelatin is also rich in protein and collagen, beneficial for joints. I am partial to Great Lakes brand gelatin, as it is made from animals which are grass-fed and pastured.

These instructions will make a single serving of muesli. If you want to prepare for several people eating this, use Wardee’s instructions in the link above.

Museli!

Soli’s overloaded muesli

Part 1

1 cup rolled oats

3/4 cup raw milk (if milk is not raw add 1 tablespoon of an acid like raw apple cider vinegar to ferment)

The evening before ou plan to eat, combine the above ingredients in a bowl and cover with a towel. Let sit outside overnight. The acid in the raw milk (which is what you find in whey when the milk separates) will break down the phytic acid in the oats to make them more digestible.

Part 2

In the morning, uncover oats. I start by stirring in

1 T chia seeds

1 T gelatin powder

Generous sprinkle of cinnamon

Milk kefir

Raisins

Small amount of honey

Stir the above into the muesli. Add in any more add-ons. I am partial to fresh berries, bananas, and crispy nuts.

Serve and enjoy! Happy eating!

Be sure to connect with me on Facebook and follow me on Twitter!

I’m sharing this post at Motivation Monday, Traditional Tuesday, Party Wave Wednesday, Real Food Wednesday, the Homesteading Hippy, Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways, Tasty Traditions, Simple Lives Thursday, and Fight Back Friday!

4 responses to “Soli’s overloaded muesli

  1. We can’t get raw milk in our state. It’s illegal to buy or sell it. I think adding the apple cider turns into a form of buttermilk or yogurt. I think I might try this with homemade yogurt. My kids love refrigerator oatmeal, but this sounds better

    Linking up from Real Food Wednesday. Would love if you could drop by http://mywildcrazylife.blogspot.com and visit sometime!

  2. Hmmm, this is interesting. I don’t drink milk though; would soaking oats in water and a tablespoon or two of apple cider vinegar do the trick?

Leave a Reply

